Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 117
  1. #101
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmutly View Post
    I'll look into it. Not sure what Thomas's criteria is regarding that scenario.
    My suggestion, which works, is if you are going to use it outside of your place
    I would :

    1. Disconnect from internet for a sec.
    2. Launch APP.
    3. Turn on Internet at Cafe, once its up and running.
    4. It will work i have tried it. Then if app uses internet scripts will be fine.

    However, i need to think about this.

    1. If you install on your PC an IP is recorded and a serial No.
    Serial is not part of the activation. It's added from when PayPal sends a
    successful transaction, as it should.
    I could probably use that to check if SN exists in Database AND the IP is different.
    If SN there but IP different to just continue to load and ignore IP.
    No promise of a quick fix, I'll get around to it as its not critical just yet...
    for me too much other things i'm fixing like email/download pages.
    If it's you testing just go into Settings and delete 2nd IP till i look into it.

    But finishing No 1. above:
    After you install it in PC...you then go to your Laptop and install copy there.
    It will ask to register.You register and it will continue on and not record IP (as it is the same)
    That's why i left the last 3 digits in IP as blank (x) as Service providers usually issue a dynamic IP
    from a pool of IP's and they're usually in the top 3 numbers. Even i have had my last digits change
    within a week here..like from 118.210.184.123 to 118.210.184.103...so i decided on 000.000.000.xxx


    Also....if your not connected to internet it will launch and open as normal.
    If you get home and relaunch it, as IP is the same, it will run as normal.

    The wording of "...The software gets activated with their home IP address...." It's more a case of the IP that they bought the
    software with WILL BE their IP address recorded. Thats usually at their work or home.
    Would you purchase something through a coffee shop CAFE and THEIR untrustworthy WIFI??
    I wouldn't chance it. And i wont support it. People will just have to be told that best to buy this at the place they will be using it
    mostly. If you buy it in Australia then fly back to America where you live (you were on holiday) but you tried it out over here then
    went back and ran it there when you got home it obviously will record that new IP in database too, as it should.
    How do you, seller, know they didn't activate it for a mate in Australia then came back to US?

    ALL READ THIS PART:
    My logic is not waterproof, i know. There has to be compromises. Maybe i can increase that to 3 IP addresses?
    Look Jim, it needs to be in there, the IP check.
    At present if its not in there people could just hand around the software and give it out to 10 people and tell them
    just use my PayPal email and they get a free copy. The IP tells 2 things.
    1. They registered it on a new/different PC/laptop.
    2. Where they physically are..if IP is WAY different it is suspicious and i'd wait to they ask you why?

    That's why i think the clearing of IP2 is there...if someone complains u can clear it for them.
    3 IP's is ok, but prone to abuse? you think?

    Need others opinions on this too. Will think about it more.
    Also what about when Thomas adds the multi-user feature back into ESB.... How would that affect the software registration with your Plugin?

    I think having the email, IP and a serial number we should be able to spot something..... will the plugin notify us in anyway (by email) that there is something going on? when something is different etc...?

    I would not want to tell a customer how to get around using the software/Registration by turning off the wi-fi and launching the software and reconnecting to the wi-fi.... couldn't the give a friend the software, register it with their info and tell them to do the same thing to get around it?

    If they give the software to someone else they would have to use the same email address and serial number to register it..... when the software call back to the database (Paypal etc.) and see if that email and serial number is already being used and issue a "False"? and not allow the software to run if it is already in the database.... and also record the that info of the 2nd attempt to register the same software twice in the database with the original buyers info (email, IP address).... maybe highlight the second attempt in red or yellow in the grid? then we could we send them an email questioning the attempt?

    JIM
    Last edited by Wfjh; 03-09-2019 at 11:19 PM.

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Blue Planet
    Posts
    886

    Default

    Jim,
    way too much analyzing LOL but its ok...
    I mentioned above i have recently spoke to Thomas.
    There wont be an issue in the next update.

    You'll be able to use it at cafe,expressvpn etc AFTER its been
    registered.
    There will be some checks in place that i wont need to disclose but
    it wont affect the front end users.
    Can't go into how i will be changing it but the thing that WILL stay
    is you as the seller will have 2options on how
    to activate your products.

    Some people like using serial numbers and some will use the
    PayPal email.
    That choice will stay. Then after activating they can use it wherever
    and it some checks will be in place that i dont need to disclose.
    But they're fine.

    You'll be able to use any IP if software is registered copy no probs.
    Go to cafe, then overseas etc. Yes, it doesnt do that...YET..but i'm
    fixing it.



    Thanks,

    ciao.
    Robbie
    Last edited by schmutly; 03-10-2019 at 04:24 AM.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmutly View Post
    Jim,
    way too much analyzing LOL but its ok...
    I mentioned above i have recently spoke to Thomas.
    There wont be an issue in the next update.

    You'll be able to use it at cafe,expressvpn etc AFTER its been
    registered.
    There will be some checks in place that i wont need to disclose but
    it wont affect the front end users.
    Can't go into how i will be changing it but the thing that WILL stay
    is you as the seller will have 2options on how
    to activate your products.

    Some people like using serial numbers and some will use the
    PayPal email.
    That choice will stay. Then after activating they can use it wherever
    and it some checks will be in place that i dont need to disclose.
    But they're fine.

    You'll be able to use any IP if software is registered copy no probs.
    Go to cafe, then overseas etc. Yes, it doesnt do that...YET..but i'm
    fixing it.



    Thanks,

    ciao.
    Robbie
    "way too much analyzing LOL but its ok..."

    Well Just trying to think it through logically... That's the way my brain works.

    JIM

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    207

    Default

    Yeah, I've probably been doing too much analyzing myself.

    I was thinking how the software protection could be set up similar to how a website login security plugin does that blocks IPs after x-amount of attempts in x-amount of time.

    But anyway, glad you two genius programmers got together and came up with a solution. Now I can stop thinking about it.

    Mel

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Blue Planet
    Posts
    886

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wfjh View Post
    "way too much analyzing LOL but its ok..."

    Well Just trying to think it through logically... That's the way my brain works.

    JIM
    I understand mate,
    I'm just tired. Theres' a lot to do. Finishing up the email part.
    And tomorrow I'll get into the main license and fix it.

    I know what to do now..was a long weekend here but too tired to go anywhere
    I'm going to bed

    night /

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Blue Planet
    Posts
    886

    Default

    There's been a huge DDOS attack to my hosting company (in US) and my node (i suppose thousands
    of others too) have been affected..so i haven't been able at all to access my websites :/
    Ill get back into it A.S.A.P
    Robbie

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    207

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmutly View Post
    There's been a huge DDOS attack to my hosting company (in US) and my node (i suppose thousands
    of others too) have been affected..so i haven't been able at all to access my websites :/
    Ill get back into it A.S.A.P
    Robbie
    These type of attacks have been on the rise, more and more each year too. I've noticed a lot of sites that were not using Cloudflare or Securi are now doing so because of it. When we were using CrocWeb hosting several years ago, we had an DDOS attack that lasted a long time.

    Hopefully you can get back into your hosting/node soon, Robbie.

    Tc
    Mel

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Blue Planet
    Posts
    886

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mel Bel View Post
    These type of attacks have been on the rise, more and more each year too. I've noticed a lot of sites that were not using Cloudflare or Securi are now doing so because of it. When we were using CrocWeb hosting several years ago, we had an DDOS attack that lasted a long time.

    Hopefully you can get back into your hosting/node soon, Robbie.

    Tc
    Mel
    All VPS going again...seems a little faster too haha.

    I spent the day and have successfully got some things done.
    The IP and Date of activation are now recorded in database.
    If they refund they wont be able to activate it again.
    The IP can be changed (if your at coffee-shop or use a VPN for security)
    and it wont affect the running of your software's.
    but there's another safety check in place i wont mention,as u wont
    really need to know about it for now, but all will be good.

    I'm stuck on an issue. Been 'bugging' me out (no pun ) but I'll
    work on it through tonight and next day and should have an update by
    Thursday.

    After that i am purely working on the email/downloading part of plugin
    as that will be needed.

    Good evening,
    Robbie

    edit: Thanks for the suggestions Thomas. I deleted a little chunk of
    bloated code i didn't need haha ...sigh!!
    Last edited by schmutly; 03-13-2019 at 02:39 AM.

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Blue Planet
    Posts
    886

    Default

    CHECK front post:

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Robbie,
    I update, deactivate, delete and installed the new update. I hope it deleted the old database and create a new one automatically. Does it? I didn't manually delete anything. Thank you once again for what you are doing for us. Eyasu

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •